Top 5: Fastest centuries in IPL | Cricket News


NEW DELHI: Scoring a century in the T20 format is just not a simple job by any stretch of the creativeness. With many of the modern-era batters seeking to hit the ball out of the park on a regular basis, it turns into more and more troublesome for them to outlive for a very long time and go on to attain a ton in the shortest format. The identical is true for the Indian Premier League, the place batsmen have all the time appeared to play for the staff relatively than worrying about private landmarks.
Getting to the three-figure mark in a brief time period is difficult. But there have been a couple of superhuman efforts from the batsmen in the match, the place they haven’t solely scored centuries, but in addition carried out it in double fast time, in flip benefiting their staff in an enormous approach. right here takes a take a look at the quickest centuries scored in the IPL over the previous 12 editions:
Chris Gayle (2013) – 30 balls

On April 23, 2013 the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, along with the rest of the world witnessed a carnage by Chris Gayle, as the Jamaican scored the fastest century ever in the IPL against Pune Warriors off just 30 balls. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, the Gayle storm hit the stadium as the fans witnessed a power hitting masterclass from the left-hander. Without breaking a sweat, Gayle, in that match, mercilessly smacked the Pune bowlers all over the park, eventually finishing with a mind boggling a 66-ball 175* — the highest score by a batsman in the IPL and in T20 cricket. During his blitz, Gayle smashed 13 fours and 17 sixes at an astounding strike rate of over 266. In a 102-minute knock, the West Indian brought the opposition bowlers to their knees, as no one had any idea how to tackle the ruthless batting by the six hitting machine. Riding on that effort by Gayle, RCB scored 263/5 — the highest ever team total in IPL. Stunned by the effort from Gayle, Pune Warriors just didn’t know how to react in the mammoth run-chase and were eventually restricted to 133/9, handing RCB a 130-run win in that unforgettable match.
Yusuf Pathan (2010) – 37 balls

There have not been many instances in cricket’s history when a mind-boggling effort from a batsman has gone in vain. In one such instance on March 13, 2010, a gutted Yusuf Pathan was left feeling all the weight of disappointments after his team, Rajasthan Royals lost the match by just four runs while in pursuit of the target of 213 set by Mumbai Indians. Even after scoring a breathtaking ton that came off just 37 balls, an unfortunate run out at the wrong juncture of the chase meant that despite the fantastic effort his team lost the nail-biter. But the knock from Yusuf won hearts all around, as his valiant effort made him an overnight sensation in the tournament. For three years, Yusuf held the record of the fastest IPL ton, before RCB’s Chris Galye broke it in 2013. With 8 fours and 9 sixes, Yusuf in that match, struck the ball at a deadly strike rate of over 270, making the MI bowlers just fell helpless. The match remains one of the most dramatic clashes in IPL history.

David Miller (2013) – 38 balls

Arguably one of the most entertaining editions of the IPL was 2013, where the cricketing world witnessed a slew of records being broken and new ones made. From top-notch batting performances to nerve-wracking run chases and tense finishes, the 6th edition of the cricketing extravaganza witnessed it all. After a record-shattering ‘Gayle storm’ earlier in the season, the fans, a few days later, witnessed one of the most delightful T20 knocks ever played in a run-chase. And it was the dynamic South African batsman David Miller, who produced the sensational knock for Kings XI Punjab against the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chasing a daunting 191, Miller came in at no. 5 and produced the T20 knock of his life, hitting a 38-ball ton and winning the game for his team. From 95/4 after 13 overs, in the next 54-minutes ‘Killer Miller’ changed everything, hitting a flurry of boundaries that included 8 fours and 7 sixes. With a colossal strike rate of over 265, Miller left RCB shell-shocked, taking his team to a 6-wicket win with 12 balls to spare. With Miller on 95 and just 3 runs to win, the six from the left-hander to take his team across the finish-line and also reach a personal three-figure mark made the ton even more special.
Adam Gilchrist (2008) – 42 balls

For Australia’s Adam Gilchrist, one of the most destructive top-order batsmen to have ever played the game, IPL was the ideal platform to showcase his superhuman batting skills. And Gilchrist didn’t miss a chance to entertain the fans, as he played some of the most devastating knocks in the tournament. And the most ferocious of them all was his 42-ball ton that he struck for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians on April 27, 2008. Chasing a tricky total of 155, Gilchrist produced a masterclass, leading his team to a phenomenal 10-wicket win. With VVS Laxman (37*) watching the ‘Gilchrist Mayhem’ from the other end, the left-hander took every MI bowler to the cleaners. With a total of 9 fours and 10 sixes, Gilchrist eventually went on to score an unbeaten 109 off 47 balls that came at a strike rate of over 231. Even after 12 editions of the tournament, Gilchrist’s knock still stands fourth on the list of fastest centuries scored in the IPL.
AB de Villiers (2016) and David Warner (2017) – 43 balls

Two of probably the most devastating modern-day greats AB de Villiers and David Warner have been a category aside in the IPL. Even although hailing from overseas shores, the 2 batsmen, with their unbelievable batting abilities have received the hearts of the Indian followers. Both de Villiers and Warner have performed innumerable unfrogettable knocks through the years. But probably the most cherished knocks from De Villiers and Warner maybe have been scored in 2016 and 2017 respectively, after they scored a 43-ball century every for his or her groups. While De Villiers produced the masterclass towards Gujarat Lions at their residence floor, the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, Warner achieved the feat towards Kolkata Knight Riders on the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Hyderabad. During his unbeaten 52-ball 129, de Villiers hit 10 fours and 12 sixes at a strike fee of over 248 to arrange an RCB win. On the opposite hand, Warner smoked 126 off 59 balls, together with 10 fours and eight sixes to blow away KKR. The two stars collectively stand fifth on the record of quickest centuries in the IPL.